Skip to content

Wynne Prize

The Wynne Prize is awarded annually for 'the best landscape painting of Australian scenery in oils or watercolours or for the best example of figure sculpture by Australian artists’.

This open competition is judged by the trustees of the Art Gallery of NSW. Finalists are displayed in an exhibition at the Gallery (although in the early years all entrants were hung). Many winning paintings have become icons in Australian landscape art, entering the collections of public galleries, including our own.

The prize was established following a bequest by Richard Wynne, who died in 1895, and first awarded in 1897, in honour of the official opening of the Gallery at its present site.

Between 1897 and 1928 there was no Wynne Prize exhibition at the then National Art Gallery of NSW. The winners were selected by the trustees from local art society shows, from works brought into the Gallery for assessment or, on occasions, from works viewed by the trustees in other circumstances.

Related prizes

Entries in the Wynne Prize are also eligible for the following prizes:

How to enter

Entering the Wynne Prize

Explore past winners and finalists

Wynne 2003 finalists Tim Kyle Seated figure
Wynne 2002 finalists Angus Nivison Remembering rain
Wynne 2001 finalists Aida Tomescu Piatra
Wynne 2000 finalists John Dahlsen Thong Totems
Wynne 1999 finalists Gloria Tamerre Petyarre Leaves
Wynne 1998 finalists Ann Thomson Yellow sound
Wynne 1997 finalists John Peart Nandi Moon
Wynne 1996 finalists William Robinson Creation Landscape Earth and Sea
Wynne 1995 finalists David Aspden Season of Drought
Wynne 1994 finalists Suzanne Archer Waratahs Wedderburn Series
Wynne 1993 finalists George Gittoes Open Cut
Wynne 1991/92 finalists Peter Schipperheyn Maschera Femina
Wynne 1990 finalists William Robinson The Rainforest
Wynne 1989 finalists Ian Bettinson Landscape Painting IV
Wynne 1988 finalists Elwyn Lynn Fire and Drought near Old Junee
Wynne 1987 finalists Ian Bettinson Landscape Painting II
Wynne 1986 finalists Rosemary Madigan Torso
Wynne 1985 finalists John Olsen A Road to Clarendon - Autumn
Wynne 1984 finalists Brett Whiteley The South Coast After Rain
Wynne 1983 finalists David Rankin Life Along the Coast
Wynne 1982 finalists Lloyd Rees Morning on the Derwent
Wynne 1981 finalists David Voight Hills of Ravensdale
Wynne 1980 finalists William Delafield Cook A waterfall (Strath Creek)
Wynne 1979 finalists Robert Juniper Flood Creek
Wynne 1978 finalists Brett Whiteley Summer at Carcoar
Wynne 1977 finalists Brett Whiteley The Jacaranda tree (On Sydney Harbour)
Wynne 1976 finalists Fred Williams Mt Kosciusko
Wynne 1975 finalists Robert Juniper Murchison sand plain
Wynne 1974 finalists Eric John Smith Redfern Landscape
Wynne 1973 finalists Clem Millward Dry Landscape
Wynne 1972 finalists Eric John Smith Falling bark
Wynne 1971 finalists Margaret Woodward Karri country
Wynne 1970 finalists Frederic Henry Bates Redfern - Southern Portal
Wynne 1969 finalists John Olsen The Chasing Bird Landscape
Wynne 1968 finalists L Scott Pendlebury Road to Whistlewood
Wynne 1967 finalists Sali Herman Ravenswood I
Wynne 1966 finalists Fred Williams Upwey Landscape V
Wynne 1965 finalists Sali Herman The Red House
Wynne 1964 finalists Sam Fullbrook Trees in a Landscape
Wynne 1963 finalists Sam Fullbrook Sandhills on the Darling
Wynne 1962 finalists Sali Herman The Devil's Bridge, Rottnest
Wynne 1961 finalists David Strachan Landscape, Hill End
Wynne 1960 finalists John Perceval Dairy farm, Victoria
Wynne 1959 finalists Reinis Zusters Harbour cruise
Wynne 1958 finalists Ronald Hewison Steuart The cliff
Wynne 1957 finalists L Scott Pendlebury Constitution Dock, Hobart
Wynne 1956 finalists L Scott Pendlebury The Chicory Kiln, Phillip Island
Wynne 1955 finalists Charles Bush Townsville Water-front
Wynne 1954 finalists Arthur Evan Read Cooktown
Wynne 1953 finalists Lance Vaiben Solomon The River Bend
Wynne 1952 finalists Charles Bush Summer at Kanmantoo
Wynne 1951 finalists Charles Meere Never Never Creek - Gleniffer
Wynne 1950 finalists Lloyd Rees The Harbour from McMahon's Point
Wynne 1949 finalists George Lawrence Two Rivers
Wynne 1948 finalists William Dobell Storm Approaching Wangi
Wynne 1947 finalists Russell Drysdale Sofala
Wynne 1946 finalists Lance Vaiben Solomon January Weather
Wynne 1945 finalists Douglas Watson Old Grain Stores, Greenaugh, W.A. [sic]
Wynne 1944 finalists Sali Herman McElhone Stairs
Wynne 1943 finalists Douglas Dundas The Hilltop
Wynne 1942 finalists Douglas Watson Backyards
Wynne 1941 finalists Lorna Muir Nimmo Valley Farms
Wynne 1940 finalists Sydney Long The Lake, Narrabeen
Wynne 1939 finalists Will Ashton Morning Light, Middle Harbour
Wynne 1938 finalists Sydney Long The approaching Storm
Wynne 1937 finalists Elioth Gruner Weetangera, Canberra
Wynne 1936 finalists Elioth Gruner Landscape
Wynne 1935 finalists James Muir Auld Winter morning
Wynne 1934 finalists Elioth Gruner Murrumbidgee Ranges, Canberra
Wynne 1933 finalists Lyndon Dadswell Youth
Wynne 1932 finalists Hans Heysen Brachina Gorge
Wynne 1931 finalists Hans Heysen Red gums of the far north
Wynne 1930 finalists Will Ashton Kosciusko
Wynne 1929 finalists Elioth Gruner On the Murrumbidgee
Wynne 1928 finalists Arthur Streeton Afternoon Light, Goulburn Valley
Wynne 1927 finalists Rayner Hoff Head
Wynne 1926 finalists Hans Heysen The Farmyard, Frosty Morning
Wynne 1925 finalists W Lister Lister A Bush Track
Wynne 1924 finalists Hans Heysen An afternoon in autumn
Wynne 1923 finalists G W L Hirst Head of an old man
Wynne 1922 finalists Hans Heysen The quarry
Wynne 1921 finalists Elioth Gruner Valley of the Tweed
Wynne 1920 finalists Hans Heysen The Toilers
Wynne 1919 finalists Elioth Gruner Spring frost
Wynne 1918 finalists W B McInnes The grey road
Wynne 1917 finalists W Lister Lister The Wind-swept Marsh Lands
Wynne 1916 finalists Elioth Gruner Morning light
Wynne 1915 finalists John Christie Wright Knowledge, Fine Art and Commerce
Wynne 1914 finalists Theodore Penleigh Boyd Landscape
Wynne 1913 finalists W Lister Lister Federal Capital Site
Wynne 1912 finalists W Lister Lister Sydney Harbour, Overlooking Taylors Bay
Wynne 1911 finalists Hans Heysen Hauling timber
Wynne 1910 finalists W Lister Lister 'Mid Song of Birds and Insects Murmuring
Wynne 1909 finalists Hans Heysen Summer
Wynne 1908 finalists Will Ashton Noontide, Burnside
Wynne 1907 finalists G W L Hirst Portrait, H Garlick, Esq
Wynne 1906 finalists W Lister Lister The golden splendour of the bush
Wynne 1905 finalists Albert J Hanson A Blaze of Blue Noon
Wynne 1904 finalists Hans Heysen Mystic Morn
Wynne 1903 finalists Edward Officer "Glenora", a Tasmanian Township
Wynne 1902 finalists James S White In Defence of the Flag
Wynne 1901 finalists W C Piguenit A Thunderstorm on the Darling
Wynne 1900 finalists Walter Withers Still Autumn
Wynne 1899 finalists George W Lambert Across the black soil plains
Wynne 1898 finalists W Lister Lister The Last Gleam
Wynne 1897 finalists Walter Withers The storm