Skip to content

Update from the Gallery regarding COVID-19

The Art Gallery of New South Wales is open. We are observing strict physical distancing and hygiene measures to protect the health of visitors and staff and minimise the spread of COVID-19 (coronavirus). Read the latest visit information, including hours

Archibald, Wynne and Sulman Prizes 2020

jpg Archibald Prize winner

jpg Packing Room Prize winner

jpg Australia's favourite portrait prize

jpg Australia's favourite portrait prize

Australia's favourite portrait prize

jpg Australia's favourite portrait prize

jpg Australia's favourite portrait prize

  • Slide 1
  • Slide 2
  • Slide 3
  • Slide 4
  • Slide 5
  • Slide 6
  • Slide 7

Australia’s most engaging art event

The Archibald, Wynne and Sulman Prizes is an annual exhibition eagerly anticipated by artists and audiences alike.

The Archibald Prize, first awarded in 1921, is Australia’s favourite art award, and one of its most prestigious. Awarded to the best portrait painting, it’s a who’s who of Australian culture – from politicians to celebrities, sporting heroes to artists.

The Wynne Prize is awarded to the best landscape painting of Australian scenery, or figure sculpture, while the Sulman Prize is given to the best subject painting, genre painting or mural project in oil, acrylic, watercolour or mixed media.

Each year, the trustees of the Art Gallery of NSW judge the Archibald and Wynne, and invite an artist to judge the Sulman. The 2020 judge is Khadim Ali.

Visit the exhibition to vote for your favourite portrait in the ANZ People’s Choice award before voting closes on 13 December and see the work of budding artists aged 5–18 on display in the Young Archies.

For families, there are also children’s labels, a children’s trail and an activity sheet with ideas for creating your own portraits at home.

ANZ, JCDecaux, Sydney Morning Herald, Sofitel, City of Sydney, Porter’s Original Paints, Robert Oatley

Buy tickets now from Qtix

26 Sep 2020 – 10 Jan 2021

Due to COVID-19 capacity restrictions, tickets are dated and timed. You need to specify a date and time when booking. Tickets can be used once.

SOME SESSIONS AND DAYS SOLD OUT! Before visiting, please check Qtix ticketing site

$20 adult
$18 concession
$16 member
$48 family (2 adults + up to 3 children)
$8 child/youth (5-17 years)
Free for children under 5
$2 transaction fee applies online

Also available
Gallery Pass ticket offer
Archibald, Wynne and Sulman Prizes 2020 and Streeton
$35 adult
$32 concession
$30 member

Dining packages
Find out more

Major exhibition gallery

Join the conversation



Archie 100

In the lead up to the Archibald’s 100th birthday, we’re seeking information about or images of Archibald Prize works not currently on our website.
How you can help