Skip to content

Archibald, Wynne and Sulman Prizes 2016

Archibald Prize 2015 winner announcement. Left to right: Art Gallery of NSW director Michael Brand, portrait subject Charles Waterstreet, president of the board of trustees Guido Belgiorno-Nettis and artist Nigel Milsom

Australia’s most extraordinary art event

The Archibald, Wynne and Sulman Prizes is an annual exhibition eagerly anticipated by artists and audiences alike.

The Archibald Prize, first awarded in 1921, is Australia’s favourite art award, and one of its most prestigious. Awarded to the best portrait painting, it’s a who’s who of Australian culture – from politicians to celebrities, sporting heroes to artists.

The Wynne Prize is awarded to the best landscape painting of Australian scenery, or figure sculpture, while the Sulman Prize is given to the best subject painting, genre painting or mural project in oil, acrylic, watercolour or mixed media.

Each year, the trustees of the Art Gallery of NSW judge the Archibald and Wynne, and invite an artist to judge the Sulman. The 2016 Sulman judge is Judy Watson.

Visit the exhibition to vote for your favourite portrait in the People’s Choice award, and see the work of budding artists aged 5-18 on display in the Young Archies.

Explore the Archibald, Wynne and Sulman Prizes

View winners and finalists from previous years, and find out more about each of the prizes – including how to enter – in our prizes database.

Principal sponsor ANZ

16 Jul – 9 Oct 2016

Charges apply

Major exhibition gallery


2015 exhibition now closed

But you can still catch the regional tour of 2015 Archibald works
Find out more