We acknowledge the Gadigal of the Eora Nation, the traditional custodians of the Country on which the Art Gallery of New South Wales stands.

Audio-description tours

Guide Dogs Youth participants take part in an audio-description program at the Art Gallery of New South Wales

Guide Dogs Youth participants take part in an audio-description program at the Art Gallery of New South Wales

Enjoy detailed descriptions of selected artworks on display at the Art Gallery of New South Wales and take part in group discussion accompanied by tactile support material.

Our monthly audio-description tours for visitors who are blind or have low vision are presented by the Art Gallery’s experienced audio-description guides and occur seated in the exhibition spaces. Companions and guide dogs are welcome.

Audio-description tours

First Wednesday and Saturday of the month
February–December 2023
1.30–3pm

Art Gallery of New South Wales

🛈 Find out what you need to know before visiting

Free, bookings required

Bookings and enquiries: 02 9225 1740

Tailored audio-described tours of the permanent galleries and temporary exhibitions are available for visitors who are blind or with low vision if booked at least two weeks in advance. Email: education@ag.nsw.gov.au  or call 02 9225 1740 to discuss

  • February

    Visit some of the artworks commissioned for our new expanded art museum campus.

    Wednesday 8 February 2023 1.30–3pm

    Saturday 11 February 2023 1.30–3pm

  • March

    Visit the Yiribana Gallery of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Art in the North Building.

    Wednesday 8 March 2023 1.30–3pm

    Saturday 11 March 2023 1.30–3pm

  • April

    Visit the exhibition Adrián Villar Rojas: The End of Imagination in the North Building.

    Wednesday 5 April 2023 1.30–3pm

  • May

    Visit the exhibition The National 4: Australian Art Now in the South Building.

    Wednesday 10 May 2023 1.30–3pm

    Saturday 13 May 2023 1.30–3pm

  • June

    Visit the exhibition Adrián Villar Rojas: The End of Imagination in the North Building.

    Wednesday 7 June 2023 1.30–3pm

  • July

    Visit the exhibition Archibald, Wynne and Sulman Prizes 2023 in the South Building. Charges will apply for exhibition entry.

    Wednesday 5 July 2023 1.30–3pm

    Saturday 8 July 2023 1.30–3pm

  • August

    Visit the exhibition Making Worlds in the North Building.

    Wednesday 9 August 2023 1.30–3pm

    Saturday 12 August 2023 1.30–3pm

  • September

    Visit the 20th-century galleries in the South Building.

    Wednesday 6 September 2023 1.30–3pm

    Saturday 9 September 2023 1.30–3pm

  • October

    Visit some of the artworks commissioned for our new expanded art museum campus.

    Wednesday 4 October 2023 1.30–3pm

    Saturday 7 October 2023 1.30–3pm

  • November

    Visit the sculpture garden in the North Building.

    Wednesday 8 November 2023 1.30–3pm

    Saturday 11 November 2023 1.30–3pm

  • December

    Visit the Grand Courts in the South Building.

    Saturday 9 December 2023 1.30–3pm