We acknowledge the Gadigal of the Eora Nation, the traditional custodians of the Country on which the Art Gallery of NSW stands.

Archibald Prize 1924

Entries: 40 works
Exhibition dates: 10 January to 31 March 1925
All entries were exhibited; no limit to number of works each artist could submit

The first known Archibald portrait of an Indigenous Australian was exhibited: a painting of preacher, author and inventor David Unaipon by BE Minns.

Like the previous year, the now four-time winner WB McInnes was awarded the prize for a portrait of a woman, and again criticism arose about the sitter, Gladys Neville Collins, who was described as ‘the daughter of the senior draughtsman of the Victorian State Parliament’. An article in the West Australian newspaper stated: ‘A portrait of Tom, Dick or Mary Ann is less valuable to Australia than a portrait of a person who has given distinguished service to national life. Although painted with equal skill, it may fairly be declared of less artistic value.’

  • James Muir Auld - Mr George Finey, artist
  • A M E Bale - Miss Clive Walsh
  • A M E Bale - Miss Mollie Agnew
  • Lawson Balfour - Charles Bryant
  • George Bell - Mrs Edward White
  • James A Bowman - Mr Thomas Hall
  • Ernest Buckmaster - Portrait of a violinist
  • Ernest Buckmaster - A Warrant Officer
  • Ernest Buckmaster - Portrait of a lady
  • Norman Carter - Mr Bryce Carter
  • John J Collins - Mr Fritz Bennecke Hart
  • Bessie Cooper - Mrs Gunn
  • Antonio Dattilo-Rubbo - Portrait of a lady
  • Antonio Dattilo-Rubbo - Self-portrait
  • Antonio Dattilo-Rubbo - Nelson Illingworth
  • Thomas Dean - Portrait
  • Aileen R Dent - AL Montague (Professor of Music)
  • Aileen R Dent - Mr John D O'Hara (actor)
  • Aileen R Dent - Miss Ethel Wellesley (acts)
  • Charles Goode - Self-portrait
  • Ray S Gower - Portrait of a girl
  • Ray S Gower - Lawson Balfour (artist)
  • David Grieve - Self-portrait
  • May Grigg - Miss Bertha Lavery
  • John J Hennessy - Self-portrait
  • John Macdonnel - Portrait
  • W B McInnes - Jean
  • W B McInnes - Sir Baldwin Spencer
  • W B McInnes - Ruth
  • W B McInnes - Miss Collins (Winner: Archibald Prize 1924)
  • W B McInnes - Mr Agar Wynn
  • Benjamin Edward Minns - Portrait
  • Harry Linley Richardson - Miss DK Richmond
  • Joshua Smith - The Honourable A Bruntnell, MLA
  • Frederick Lyttelton Tregear - The artist's mother
  • J S Watkins - Professor Brennan
  • Charles Wheeler - Portrait
  • Charles Wheeler - Portrait
  • A Marriott Woodhouse - Portrait of a lady
  • A Marriott Woodhouse - Self-portrait