Skip to content

Update from the Gallery regarding COVID-19

In line with decisions made by the National Cabinet as communicated by the NSW Premier Gladys Berejiklian, the Art Gallery of New South Wales has closed to the public until further notice to help protect the health of all visitors and staff and minimise the spread of COVID-19 (coronavirus) in the State. More information

Abbey Vella, age 13, Young Archie 2016 finalist, 13-15 year olds (detail)

Young Archie 2016 competition

Budding artists between the ages of 5 and 18 were invited to submit a portrait for the Art Gallery of NSW’s Young Archie competition, as part of our family-focused activities for the Archibald, Wynne and Sulman Prizes 2016 exhibition.

The portrait was of a person who is special to them – someone who is known to them and plays a significant role in their life.

There were four age categories:

  • 5-8 year olds
  • 9-12 year olds
  • 13-15 year olds
  • 16-18 year olds

The competition was judged by artist Del Kathryn Barton, Archibald Prize winner in 2008 and 2013, and Victoria Collings, the Gallery’s senior coordinator of education and family programs, based on merit and originality.

Five finalists from each category were exhibited at the Gallery and on the Gallery website. One winner was chosen in each category.

Each finalist received an art pack and Archibald 16 catalogue. Each winner received a cash prize of $100 from ANZ, an art hamper, a family pass to a paid exhibition at the Gallery and an Archibald 16 catalogue.

Artworks that received an honourable mention were displayed on the Gallery website and at the SH Ervin Gallery in the Rocks alongside the Salon des Refusés.

Explore the Young Archies

View winners, finalists and honourable mentions from this and previous years in our prizes database.

Principal sponsor ANZ
Supported by
S & S wholsalers

Key dates

Competition open 12 noon, 2 May 2016

Entries must be received by 5pm 10 June 2016

Finalists announced 7 July 2016

Finalists displayed 16 July to 9 October 2016

Winners announced 17 September 2016