Skip to content

	Image: Francois Boucher The Rape of Europa c1732–34 (detail) oil on canvas, Wallace Collection, London, UK / Bridgeman Images

Art appreciation lecture series 2018

The hidden language of art: symbol and allusion

From cave painting to contemporary video, artists in every culture use symbols and allegory to add meaning to their subject. But if we can’t decode these images, how can we understand the story behind them or the message the artist wishes to convey?

In 2018, the Art Gallery Society of NSW’s art appreciation lecture series will explore the visual clues behind some of the world’s great masterpieces: the mythologies of East and West, for example, that inspired painters from Titian to Anselm Kiefer and Grayson Perry; fabled Mughal gardens; the subtle gestures of Renaissance Madonnas; sacred geometry in Rome; Enigmatic Velázquez; Hogarth’s moral mazes; forgotten histories, personal secrets and coded connotations.

Over 36 weeks, in lectures by 32 distinguished curators and art historians, The hidden language of art will reach into the past to interpret elusive imagery that can still speak to the present. An unmissable series.

Book online

Wednesdays: Full series:sold out • Term 1:sold out • Term 2Term 3

Thursdays: Full series and Term subscriptions sold out

Individual lectures: see below

Listen to podcasts

Available on Soundcloud

Image: Francois Boucher The Rape of Europa c1732–34 (detail) oil on canvas, Wallace Collection, London, UK / Bridgeman Images

Various Wednesdays 6pm and Thursdays, 1pm
31 January - 15 November 2018
See listing for details

Full year: non-member $850, member $600
Per term: non-member $350, member $250
Per lecture: non-member $40, member $30

Term 1: 31 January – 3 May
Term 2: 9 May – 9 August
Term 3: 15 August – 15 November

Bookings and enquiries: 02 9225 1878

Become a member

Cancellations:
Three full working days (Mon–Fri) notice is required to qualify for a refund. All refunds attract an administration charge of 25% of the ticket price(s) with a minimum charge of $5. With full year or per term tickets, there are no refunds for single sessions, unless a session is cancelled. Not negotiable.

Duration 1 hour
Location: Domain Theatre

Proudly sponsored by
Resimac

Gardens and pavilions: politics and symbolism in the Mughal landscape BOOKED OUT

Michael Brand

 

Wednesday 31 January 2018 6pm – 7pm
BOOKED OUT

Thursday 1 February 2018 1pm – 2pm
BOOKED OUT

Aboriginal bark painting: the Macassan connection

Cara Pinchbeck

 

BOOK ONLINE

Wednesday 7 February 2018 6pm – 7pm

Thursday 8 February 2018 1pm – 2pm
BOOKED OUT

Balancing the (heavenly) books: Giotto’s arena chapel

Louise Marshall

 

BOOK ONLINE

Wednesday 14 February 2018 6pm – 7pm

Thursday 15 February 2018 1pm – 2pm
BOOKED OUT

Ancient Greece: the invention of the classical orders

Peter Kohane

 

BOOK ONLINE

Wednesday 21 February 2018 6pm – 7pm

Thursday 22 February 2018 1pm – 2pm
BOOKED OUT

Not just a pretty picture: understanding gesture in Renaissance Madonnas BOOKED OUT

Louise Marshall

 

Wednesday 28 February 2018 6pm – 7pm
BOOKED OUT

Thursday 1 March 2018 1pm – 2pm
BOOKED OUT

Peacemaker, hero, warrior, lover: the many lives of Vishnu

Melanie Eastburn

 

BOOK ONLINE

Wednesday 7 March 2018 6pm – 7pm

Thursday 8 March 2018 1pm – 2pm
BOOKED OUT

Clues, hidden symbolism and early Renaissance art BOOKED OUT

Anne Dunlop

 

Wednesday 14 March 2018 6pm – 7pm
BOOKED OUT

Thursday 15 March 2018 1pm – 2pm
BOOKED OUT

Rebirth in Caravaggio’s 'Conversion of Saint Paul' BOOKED OUT

Michael Hill

 

Wednesday 21 March 2018 6pm – 7pm
BOOKED OUT

Thursday 22 March 2018 1pm – 2pm
BOOKED OUT

The strange world of Albrecht Dürer BOOKED OUT

Alisa Bunbury

Note: Alisa Bunbury replaces Peter Raissis for this lecture as previously advertised. The Gallery apologises for any inconvenience.

 

Wednesday 28 March 2018 6pm – 7pm
BOOKED OUT

Thursday 29 March 2018 1pm – 2pm
BOOKED OUT

Secrets of the Sistine: Michelangelo’s triumph and torment BOOKED OUT

Lorraine Kypiotis

 

Wednesday 4 April 2018 6pm – 7pm
BOOKED OUT

Thursday 5 April 2018 1pm – 2pm
BOOKED OUT

Geometry and light in San Carlo alle Quattro Fontane

Michael Hill

 

BOOK ONLINE

Wednesday 11 April 2018 6pm – 7pm

Thursday 12 April 2018 1pm – 2pm
BOOKED OUT

The enigma of Velázquez’s 'Las Meninas'

Lisa Beaven

Note: Due to the hosting of an international diplomatic event, the Art Gallery of NSW will close early Wednesday 2 May. The Wednesday lecture will now take place on 21 November, not 2 May as previously advertised. The Thursday lecture will still take place as scheduled. The Gallery apologises for any inconvenience.

More information

 

Wednesday 2 May 2018 6pm – 7pm
CANCELLED

Thursday 3 May 2018 1pm – 2pm
BOOKED OUT

BOOK ONLINE

Wednesday 21 November 2018 6pm – 7pm

Abducting Europa: metamorphosis and misadventure in art

Mark Ledbury

 

BOOK ONLINE

Wednesday 9 May 2018 6pm – 7pm

Thursday 10 May 2018 1pm – 2pm
BOOKED OUT

Nicolas Poussin: 'Peintre Philosophe'

Christopher Allen

 

BOOK ONLINE

Wednesday 16 May 2018 6pm – 7pm

Thursday 17 May 2018 1pm – 2pm
BOOKED OUT

The concealed iconography of Japanese Christians in the 17th century

Olivia Meehan

 

BOOK ONLINE

Wednesday 23 May 2018 6pm – 7pm

Thursday 24 May 2018 1pm – 2pm
BOOKED OUT

A window on to heaven: optical illusions and allusions in Baroque Rome

Steven Miller

 

BOOK ONLINE

Wednesday 30 May 2018 6pm – 7pm

Thursday 31 May 2018 1pm – 2pm
BOOKED OUT

Modern morality in Hogarth and Gainsborough

Georgina Cole

 

BOOK ONLINE

Wednesday 6 June 2018 6pm – 7pm

Thursday 7 June 2018 1pm – 2pm
BOOKED OUT

'Vertu et Patrie': David, Neoclassicism and the Revolution

Mark Ledbury

 

BOOK ONLINE

Wednesday 13 June 2018 6pm – 7pm

Thursday 14 June 2018 1pm – 2pm
BOOKED OUT

River stories: the art of Australian waters

Amanda Peacock

 

BOOK ONLINE

Wednesday 20 June 2018 6pm – 7pm

Thursday 21 June 2018 1pm – 2pm
BOOKED OUT

Blindness in the enlightenment

Georgina Cole

 

BOOK ONLINE

Wednesday 27 June 2018 6pm – 7pm

Thursday 28 June 2018 1pm – 2pm
BOOKED OUT

Desire, devotion, longing: symbols of love 1700-1900

Angela Hesson

 

BOOK ONLINE

Wednesday 4 July 2018 6pm – 7pm

Thursday 5 July 2018 1pm – 2pm
BOOKED OUT

Victorian painting: uncovering forgotten narratives

Alison Inglis

 

BOOK ONLINE

Wednesday 25 July 2018 6pm – 7pm

Thursday 26 July 2018 1pm – 2pm
BOOKED OUT

Symbolism and the 'femme fatale'

Denise Mimmocchi

 

BOOK ONLINE

Wednesday 1 August 2018 6pm – 7pm

Thursday 2 August 2018 1pm – 2pm
BOOKED OUT

Dorothea Tanning and surrealism

Victoria Carruthers

Note – The Wednesday lecture will now take place on 3 October, not 8 August as previously advertised. The Thursday lecture will still take place as scheduled. The Gallery apologises for any inconvenience.

 

Wednesday 8 August 2018 6pm – 7pm
CANCELLED

Thursday 9 August 2018 1pm – 2pm
BOOKED OUT

BOOK ONLINE

Wednesday 3 October 2018 6pm – 7pm

Picasso and 'the unknown masterpiece'

Terence Maloon

 

BOOK ONLINE

Wednesday 15 August 2018 6pm – 7pm

Thursday 16 August 2018 1pm – 2pm
BOOKED OUT

Sidney Nolan: decoding the embodied landscape

Deborah Edwards

 

BOOK ONLINE

Wednesday 22 August 2018 6pm – 7pm

Thursday 23 August 2018 1pm – 2pm
BOOKED OUT

The iconography of Arthur Boyd

Kendrah Morgan

 

BOOK ONLINE

Wednesday 29 August 2018 6pm – 7pm

Thursday 30 August 2018 1pm – 2pm
BOOKED OUT

Woman as national allegory in modern Indian and Indonesian art

Chaitanya Sambrani

 

BOOK ONLINE

Wednesday 5 September 2018 6pm – 7pm

Thursday 6 September 2018 1pm – 2pm
BOOKED OUT

Seeing desire: Marcel Duchamp’s 'Étant Donnés'

Jaime Tsai

 

BOOK ONLINE

Wednesday 12 September 2018 6pm – 7pm

Thursday 13 September 2018 1pm – 2pm
BOOKED OUT

Following the line: understanding south-east art practices

Jonathan Jones

 

BOOK ONLINE

Wednesday 19 September 2018 6pm – 7pm

Thursday 20 September 2018 1pm – 2pm
BOOKED OUT

Louise Bourgeois: the subject of pain is the business I am in

Jason Smith

 

BOOK ONLINE

Wednesday 26 September 2018 6pm – 7pm

Thursday 27 September 2018 1pm – 2pm
BOOKED OUT

Anselm Kiefer: master of myth

Jane Clark

 

BOOK ONLINE

Wednesday 17 October 2018 6pm – 7pm

Thursday 18 October 2018 1pm – 2pm
BOOKED OUT

Identity, displacement, loss and redemption: the art of Imants Tillers

Wayne Tunnicliffe

 

BOOK ONLINE

Wednesday 24 October 2018 6pm – 7pm

Thursday 25 October 2018 1pm – 2pm
BOOKED OUT

Grayson Perry: truths and beliefs

Rachel Kent

 

BOOK ONLINE

Wednesday 31 October 2018 6pm – 7pm

Thursday 1 November 2018 1pm – 2pm
BOOKED OUT

Performing pop culture in Australian art

Daniel Mudie Cunningham

 

BOOK ONLINE

Wednesday 7 November 2018 6pm – 7pm

Thursday 8 November 2018 1pm – 2pm
BOOKED OUT

A present past

Lisa Slade

 

BOOK ONLINE

Wednesday 14 November 2018 6pm – 7pm

Thursday 15 November 2018 1pm – 2pm
BOOKED OUT

The enigma of Velázquez’s 'Las Meninas'

Lisa Beaven

Note: Due to the Art Gallery of NSW hosting of an international diplomatic event, the Wednesday 2 May lecture has been transferred to 21 November.

 

BOOK ONLINE

Wednesday 21 November 2018 6pm – 7pm