Skip to content

Update from the Gallery regarding COVID-19

The Art Gallery of New South Wales is open. We are observing strict physical distancing and hygiene measures to protect the health of visitors and staff and minimise the spread of COVID-19 (coronavirus). Read the latest visit information

jpg Jack Lanagan Dunbar 2019 winner

jpg Natasha Walsh 2018 winner

jpg Sally Anderson 2017 winner

jpg Lucy O'Doherty 2016 winner

jpg Tom Polo 2015 winner

jpg James Drinkwater 2014 winner

jpg Tim Phillips 2013 winner

jpg Mitch Cairns 2012 winner

jpg Becky Gibson 2011 winner

  • Slide 1
  • Slide 2
  • Slide 3
  • Slide 4
  • Slide 5
  • Slide 6
  • Slide 7
  • Slide 8
  • Slide 9

Past winners

The Brett Whiteley Travelling Art Scholarship has been awarded annually since 1999 to an Australian artist aged 20-30 with an established body of work who is best able to demonstrate the use and benefit of the scholarship to further their art education in Europe.

2019: Jack Lanagan Dunbar
Guest judge: Gemma Smith
View 2019 winner and finalist works

2018: Natasha Walsh
Guest judge: Ben Quilty
View 2018 winner and finalist works

2017: Sally Anderson
Guest judge: Ildiko Kovacs
View 2017 winner and finalist works

2016: Lucy O’Doherty
Guest judge: Tom Carment
View 2016 winner and finalist works

2015: Tom Polo
Guest judge: Fiona Lowry
View 2015 winner and finalist works

2014: James Drinkwater
Guest judge: Jude Rae
View 2014 winner and finalist works

2013: Timothy Phillips
Guest judge: Euan Macleod
View 2013 winner and finalist works

2012: Mitch Cairns
Guest judge: Del Kathryn Barton
View 2012 winner and finalist works

2011: Becky Gibson
Guest judge: Colin Lanceley
View 2011 winner and finalist works

2010: Belem Lett
Guest judge: Angus Nivison

2009: Nicole Kelly
Guest judge: John Beard

2008: Amber Wallis
Guest judge: Nicholas Harding

2007: Nathan Hawkes
Guest judge: Aida Tomescu

2006: Samuel Wade
Guest judge: Garry Shead

2005: Wayde Owen
Guest judge: Margaret Woodward

2004: Alan Jones
Guest judge: Kevin Connor

2003: Karlee Rawkins
Guest judge: Jon Cattapan

2002: Ben Quilty
Guest judge: Margaret Olley

2001: Petrea Fellows
Guest judge: Ann Thomson

2000: Marcus Wills
Guest judge: Tim Storrier

1999: Alice Byrne
Guest judge: Wendy Sharpe