We acknowledge the Gadigal of the Eora Nation, the traditional custodians of the Country on which the Art Gallery of New South Wales stands.

🛈 Read about our COVID-safe plans and what you need to know before visiting.

Wynne Prize

Winner Wynne Prize 2017, Betty Kuntiwa Pumani 'Antara' © the artist

Winner Wynne Prize 2017 Betty Kuntiwa Pumani Antara (detail) © the artist

The Wynne Prize is awarded annually for 'the best landscape painting of Australian scenery in oils or watercolours or for the best example of figure sculpture by Australian artists’.

This open competition is judged by the trustees of the Art Gallery of NSW. Finalists are displayed in an exhibition at the Gallery (although in the early years all entrants were hung). Many winning paintings have become icons in Australian landscape art, entering the collections of public galleries, including our own.

The prize was established following a bequest by Richard Wynne, who died in 1895, and first awarded in 1897, in honour of the official opening of the Gallery at its present site.

Entries in the Wynne Prize are also eligible for the following prizes:

The Trustees’ Watercolour Prize

John & Elizabeth Newnham Pring Memorial Prize 

Commonly known as the Pring Prize, which may be awarded to the best watercolour by a woman artist and was established following a bequest by Bessie Pring – herself a watercolourist, who died in 1965 – in honour of her parents. It was first awarded in 1966.

The Roberts Family Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Prize

Also known as the Roberts Family Prize), which may be awarded to an Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander artist and was first was first awarded in 2018.