Skip to content

Ruprecht von Kaufmann 2007 - 2010

written by Christian Ehrentraut, Rupert Pfab

Hirmer Publishers | ISBN 9783777437118

Hardback – 200 pages


Member’s price: $55.80
Usually ships within 2–11 business days.

This book brings together for the first time three of Ruprecht von Kaufmann's most recent series of artworks: "Fog, "a sequence of six large-scale paintings that depict the movements of life, from childhood to battle scenes; "Medea, "a reinterpretation of the great heroic figures of antiquity; and "Equator, "an ambitious, room-filling sequence of black-and-white installations featuring archetypal antiheroes against labyrinthine landscapes. Drawing on memory sequences and themes from literature and art history, Kaufmann's work frequently juxtaposes light and shadow to suggest the struggle between good and evil. A native of Munich, Kaufmann has also lived and worked in both Los Angeles and New York and his paintings and drawings have been showcased in all three cities, among others, to great critical acclaim. With more than one hundred illustrations, this volume offers a look at his most recent series of works.

Artist: Robert von Kaufmann

Similar items