Skip to content

Light Falling On Bamboo

written by Lawrence Scott

Tindal Street Press | ISBN 9781906994952

Paperback – 442 pages

$30.00

Member’s price: $27.00
Usually ships within 2–11 business days.

This is an epic interracial period drama on a Caribbean island. After a nineteenth-century gentleman's education in Europe, landscape artist Michel Jean Cazabon returns home to Trinidad just after the island's slaves have been emancipated. The artist, used to life in post-revolutionary Paris, struggles to try to find a place for himself in the island community still in the grip of colonial powers. In order to survive as an artist, Michel takes on commissions from the old guard. But as he appreciates the beauty of his subjects under the dappled light of the bamboo, his sensuous desires and chequered past rise up and threaten to ruin him. This book is suitable for readers of Andrea Levy's "The Long Song" and Amanda Smyth's "Black Rock".

Similar items