Skip to content

	Image: Deborah Kelly. Photo by Daniel Shipp.

Short talks: perspectives on Picasso

In the Gallery’s modern European gallery

Artists and curators discuss their personal experiences and views on Picasso’s work in a series of half-hour talks, surrounded by the Gallery’s modern European collection.

Image: Deborah Kelly. Photo by Daniel Shipp.

Wednesdays 5.30pm
16–30 November 2011
4 January – 29 February 2012

Free

Duration 30 minutes
Location: Modern gallery

Related exhibition: Picasso: masterpieces from the Musée National Picasso

Wendy Sharpe

Archibald Prize-winning artist and former official war artist in East Timor.

 

Wednesday 16 November 2011 5:30pm – 6pm

Dani Marti

Spanish-born artist known for his woven paintings and video work

 

Wednesday 23 November 2011 5:30pm – 6pm

Tony Bond

Assistant director, curatorial services, and head curator, international art, Art Gallery of NSW, discusses the relationship between Francis Bacon and Picasso.
Interpreted into Auslan
sign language
To reserve seating close to the front, please phone 02 9225 1647 or email pp@ag.nsw.gov.au.

 

Wednesday 30 November 2011 5:30pm – 6pm

Jeannette Siebols

Artist and lecturer in visual arts at the Australian Catholic University.

 

Wednesday 4 January 2012 5:30pm – 6pm

Anita Taylor

Artist and director of the National Art School.

 

Wednesday 11 January 2012 5:30pm – 6pm

Merran Esson, artist

Ceramic artist and lecturer, National Art School

 

Wednesday 18 January 2012 5:30pm – 6pm

Justene Williams

Sydney-based photographer and video artist

Photo of Justene Williams by Bethany Schneiders

 

Wednesday 25 January 2012 5:30pm – 6pm

Aida Tomescu

Sulman, Wynne and Dobell Prize winning painter

Photo: Sonia Payes

 

Wednesday 1 February 2012 5:30pm – 6pm

Deborah Kelly

Mixed media artist, known for her socially engaged public artworks

 

Wednesday 8 February 2012 5:30pm – 6pm

Jan King

Abstract sculptor, winner of the Woollahra Sculpture Prize

 

Wednesday 15 February 2012 5:30pm – 6pm

Mike Parr

Sculptor, printmaker, photographer, performance and installation artist

 

Wednesday 22 February 2012 5:30pm – 6pm

Charlie Sheard

Abstract painter.

 

Wednesday 29 February 2012 5:30pm – 6pm